Review: Wildalone by Krassi Zourkova

Wildalone
Wildalone by Krassi Zourkova

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This is one of those books that I really wanted to like so much, but fell painfully short of expectations.*

WILDALONE by Krassi Zourkova is a modern re-telling of Greek mythology set against the backdrop of Princeton University. Following in her deceased sister’s footsteps, piano prodigy Thea arrives on campus in search of the facts behind her sister’s untimely demise. She becomes involved with two mysterious brothers, Jake and Rhys, who seem to be somehow be tied to her sister’s death, and clearly have secrets of their own. Incorporating themes of magic and myth, WILDALONE tries ever so hard to successfully land in the same realm as A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES, but fails due to poor execution. While the author’s first language is not English, I was surprised that the editors did not address some of the awkward phrases/wording. In fact, I often got so tripped up by the way a sentence or passage was delivered that it totally distracted from the rest of the novel.

Though the premise of WILDALONE initially was enough to suck me in, I struggled to finish the book and finally powered through this past weekend (I think I started it back in Feb?). It feels like the start of a series, but I can safely say I won’t be continuing with it. The mystery that is setup is not intriguing enough, and I don’t think I can struggle through another 300 pages of the writing.

Available now from Amazon.com, but it may be one you want to get out of your library instead.

*Honestly, the first tip off should have been all of the other novels it’s compared to… THE SECRET HISTORY, A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES, JANE EYRE… it’s never a good sign when you have to use so many other books to describe what you’re trying to sell.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

