Uprooted by Naomi Novik – A Book Review

22544764

Bottom line: Definitely add to your to-read list.

It’s been a crazy few weeks at work, and with the holiday weekend my goal was to unplug and do nothing. I’ve been in a book slump of late, and finding something to capture (and hold) my attention has been hard. Fortunately, while cruising Goodreads, “Uprooted” appeared as a suggested read.

I do enjoy a dark fairytale, and Novik’s “Uprooted” definitely delivered. Set in a world full of magic and an evil mysterious “Wood,” “Uprooted” is the tale of a young woman whose life changes when she is chosen by the kingdom’s magician, the Dragon, to become his companion. I don’t want to give away too many spoilers, but needless to say the protagonist, Agnieszka, soon finds herself part of a larger battle of good vs. evil.

Though the summary may sound predictable, I was pleasantly surprised with the direction that Novik takes. The tale captured my attention, and I appreciated that this book stands alone (no awful cliff-hanger ending)… that said, Agnieszka is an awesome heroine, and I secretly hope there may be a sequel as I enjoyed her as a character. The Dragon… not so much – honestly, he felt a little bit flat. In fact, he’s the reason that i found it hard to give the book more than four stars- Agnieszka deserved a stronger foil.

Clocking in at 350+ pages, it’s a solid read, but I wouldn’t have changed/edited out anything. The writing is lovely for the most part, but there were some passages where the wording/grammar was a little befuddling. Glad I bought a physical copy of this book as I know I’m going to re-read it eventually.

Available now from Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

