“Mr. Kiss and Tell” by Rob Thomas – A Book Review

21437200-1Oh, it pains me so much not to give this book more stars. I absolutely adored Veronica Mars’ first foray into the printed word with “The Thousand Dollar Tan.” Quick and funny plot, spot on characters, it was like spending a fantastic afternoon with an old friend. While Rob Thomas’ “Mr. Kiss and Tell” hits some of the same notes, I had a harder time getting into the world of Neptune this time around.

In her second novel appearance, Veronica finds herself tasked with unraveling the truth behind a horrible attack that takes place at the Neptune Grand. And just like any good VM episode, there are several other story lines happening concurrently, some of which begin in Book #1. (Definitely start with Book #1!) While the main case kept me glued to the pages, some of the ancillary plots got a little tiresome. (We get it… Sheriff Lamb is a bad dude.) And, I have a feeling that other hardcore VM fans are going to disagree with what Thomas does with his characters. I know that everyone has to grow up… but part of me always wants Logan to be bad boy.

That said, if you are “Marshmallow,” and like me miss the series/got back into it following the movie, “Mr. Kiss and Tell” is worthwhile picking up. While you may not have the best of time with VM and the gang, it beats not hanging out with them at all. Fingers crossed that Book #3 will hit it out of the park again!

Available for pre-order from Amazon.com and on shelves January 20th, 2015.
Disclaimer: I received an advance copy of this book via the publisher for the purpose of review. Thank you!

Leave a comment