“The Secret Place” by Tana French – A Review

20821043

In my opinion, none of Tana French’s later novels have ever lived up to “In the Woods” or “The Likeness.” I struggled through “Broken Harbor,” but somewhat enjoyed “Faithful Place,” so it was much anticipation that I picked up “The Secret Place.” Set against the backdrop of a posh girls’ school, Murder Squad detective Stephen Moran, finds himself pulled into a case involving a dead boy and Holly Mackey, daughter of Detective Frank Mackey. Though the premise of the novel (a mysterious card reading “I Know Who Killed Him” posted anonymously on a school notice board), immediately grabbed my attention, I found this quickly to be my least favorite French novel.

My primary problem has to do with the pacing and time frame of the novel. French chooses to set it in the span of a day or so, making the book feel overwhelming and implausible. Patricia Cornwell has done the same with some of her recent Scarpetta novels, and I find it so difficult to read. The characters of Moran and Conway (the tough female detective Moran works with), are also incredibly unlikeable. There was nothing that drew me to them, and it became difficult to care much about the plot. I have the same to say about the cast of characters we meet at St. Kilda’s; nobody particularly stands out or commands the reader’s attention.

“The Secret Place” beats out “Broken Harbor” as my least favorite Murder Squad novel. That said, if you are new to the series, definitely pick up French’s first two novels. I can promise you will enjoy them. And please, Ms. French, bring back Cassie and Adam!

Available for pre-order from Amazon.com and on shelves September 2nd, 2014.

xo The Book Bird

Disclaimer: I received an ARC courtesy of the publisher for the purpose of review.

Leave a Reply

