Mrs. Hemingway by Naomi Wood

18114165

Where to start when it comes to how much I enjoyed Naomi Wood’s “Mrs. Hemingway“?

I have to admit, 2014 so far has been a little lackluster when it comes to titles that I’ve strongly enjoyed. Mrs. Hemingway was the first novel that really captured my attention and had me staying up late to finish it off. While it will undoubtedly garner comparisons to Paula McLain’s The Paris Wife, the two novels only overlap in the slightest. While McLain chose to focus on the narrative of Hemingway’s first wife, Hadley, in Wood’s book we spend time with all four Mrs. Hemingways- Hadley, Pauline (Fife), Martha and Mary.

The real strength of the novel is how Wood makes you feel for and about each wife. Each is given equal room to tell her story, and a unique clean voice. All of the women are equally sympathetic, and I couldn’t say I favored one wife over the other. I thoroughly enjoyed how Wood links together each of their sections with a delicate hand – the interlocking of their stories never felt forced, and the recurring themes and imagery were subtle and well-written.

Though Papa Hemingway obviously plays a rather substantial part, I appreciated that Wood stayed focused on the four very deserving and achieving women who often get hidden in his shadow.

This novel is currently available on Amazon.com (where I purchased my copy) in both hardcover and Kindle format.

xo The Book Bird 

Leave a Reply

