After I’m Gone by Laura Lippman, A Review

Hi Friends- sorry we’ve been a little slow with the updates so far this year. Life has been crazier than usual, and we’re a little off pace. Sad face. Just wrapped up Laura Lippman’s latest, “After I’m Gone.” Neither here nor there, it was not my favorite Lippman novel. “After I’m Gone” focuses on the mysterious disappearance of a suburban husband and the impact it has on the lives of those he has left behind. Told from the perspective of his wife, daughters and mistress (to name a few), time goes back and forth from the present to the 1970s. Evenly paced with smooth writing, the plot never really seems to build to a crescendo, but yet maintains a steady momentum forward.

18089975
While I enjoyed the novel, it was definitely the weakest work of Lippman’s that I’ve read. Her female characters were reasonably well-developed and fleshed out, her male characters get no love. Felix, Sandy, and all of the men in the Brewer women’s lives are boring and totally flat. Side note: I don’t know how she does it, but somehow Lippman creates characters I can’t stand, yet I’m fascinated and can’t stop reading (ex. Michelle… man…).

Those who are fans of her previous work will most likely pick this one up- my recommendation is to grab it from the library.

A solid 3 out of 5 stars.

Available for purchase from Amazon.

xo The Book Bird 

One thought on “After I’m Gone by Laura Lippman, A Review

  1. I have read some excellent stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how so much attempt you set to create one of these
    wonderful informative site.

Leave a Reply

