It’s the final countdown….

Can’t believe that the end of 2013 is just around the corner- it seems like just yesterday I was plotting out my 2013 book list plan of action. Overall it’s been a good year, while some books were total misses (I’m looking at you, Lottie Moggach’s “Kiss Me First”– see my review here), there were some that are going on my an all-time favorites list (Marisha Pessl’s “Night Film” is a definite). With 5 more books to go to hit my goal of 80, I’m getting a little bit nervous, especially as this time of year always gets a little crazy with work and holiday festivities.

Here are the five reads that are going to bring me across the finish line:

For sure: 

13138635


These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman
: This year has kind of been a miss when it comes to YA for me, so I’m hoping that this novel can turn that around. Boy from the other side of the tracks meets girl who is way above his social standing, together they overcome he obstacles, futuristic world; you know the deal.

17646414
The Vanishing by Wendy Webb
: I received a copy of this novel via NetGalley and am about 30% through it. The plot it is a little bit far-fetched, but I’m doing my best to just accept the situation presented and enjoy the story for what it is. Of the gothic novel genre, it features a mysterious estate in the middle of nowhere and some sketchy residents.

17288599
The Aftermath by Rhidian Brook: I eagerly anticipated this novel for so long, and actually ended up buying it instead of trying to get it out of the library. So far? A serious case of mehhh. Feel obligated to finish it, but I’m on the fence about this post-WWII novel of reconstruction Germany.

 

Maybe:

Empress of the Night by Eva Stachanik (another early 2014 release)
The Siege: 68 Hours in the Taj Hotel by Cathy Scott-Clark and Adrian Levy
The Engagements by Courtney Sullivan
The Yonahlosseee Riding Camp for Girls by Anton DiScalfani (Bought it, started it… haven’t progressed very far)
Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan (see above)

I’m on the fence about the following but giving some serious consideration to:

Have you read any of the above? Thoughts? Last minute recommendations?

xo The Book Bird 

Leave a Reply

