Until You’re Mine by Samantha Hayes, a Review

I can’t believe that it’s already time to start planning my 2014 book list! How time flies! I was fortunate enough to get my hands on this excellent thriller courtesy of NetGalley and am almost tempted not to write a review as you’ll have to wait until next April to pick it up.

Here’s my one piece of advice when you start Samantha Hayes’ “Until You’re Mine,”: Stick it out, it is worth it.

When Claudia hires Zoe as a nanny, all the foreboding signs are there that things are not going to go as planned. From the creepy prologue to the introspective first person narratives, it is very clear that things are not going to be as they seem. Claudia’s life is all “too perfect,” and Zoe seems more than just a little damaged. The sense of dread that builds in the first few chapters was almost enough to turn me away, but I am very glad I ended up pressing forward because all my “theories” were pleasantly torn apart.

I hate to do this, and loathe those that use other authors or novels to describe or lend some type of credence to another work– but the only way I can describe this book is to say it’s “Gone Girl-esque.” You think you know where the story is going, but oh, you don’t. To avoid giving away any spoilers, all I can say is that this is one twisty-turny book. While not necessarily as tight as “Gone Girl” (ugh, there I go again!),

Available for pre-order from Amazon.com, this book will release in April 2014.

xo The Book Bird

*DISCLAIMER: I received an advance copy of this novel from the publisher via NetGalley.*

Leave a Reply

