Mrs. Poe by Lynn Cullen, A Review

16130398Two stars, one because I found the premise interesting, and another because as I couldn’t finish the last 2/3rds of the book, I’d like to give it the benefit of the doubt that it gets better. 

The story of a poetess who encounters and strikes up a complex relationship with Edgar Allen Poe and his wife, Virginia, I couldn’t tell you whether this is actually accurate or not. Why? Because after hitting 27% I still didn’t have any more information than I had started with by reading the book blurb, and I had lost all motivation to persevere onwards. Perhaps, to quote The Raven, “Nevermore…” 

Oh, where to start on my disappointment– this was one of the books that I was indeed most excited about for fall. In fact, when I first got my hands on a copy, I may have let out a little squee. Alas, that excitement dissipated rather quickly. The writing is bland, uninspired and drags. I also found that Cullen uses several pieces of dialogue that in my mind do not fit in with the period.  Considering all of the wonderful personalities at her disposal, I struggled with the fact that the whole plotline felt so flat. 

Available online from Amazon.com for pre-order. 

xo

The Book Bird

*DISCLAIMER: I received a copy of this book via NetGallery for advance review from the publisher.*

One thought on “Mrs. Poe by Lynn Cullen, A Review

  1. Pingback: The Raven (Poem/Song) « EssayBoard

Leave a Reply

